WELCA



Women of the ELCA, the women’s organization of the church, has thousands of participants in thousands of congregations. Together we are committed to growing in faith, affirming our gifts, supporting one another in our callings, and engaging in ministry and action that promotes justice and wholeness for all people.”

The Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (WELCA) is one of the longest-running organizations at OSLC. They have a rich history of serving the Lord and of providing generous gifts of time, talent and money in support of Our Savior’s. WELCA is perhaps best known for their wonderful work in the kitchen, serving meals for many pot luck events.

Meetings are usually held the third Thursday of the month. All women of Our Savior’s are members of WELCA. If you have an interest in supporting any of the many causes of WELCA your contribution of time and talent and fellowship would be welcomed.

WELCA Statement of Purpose

As a community of women, created in the image of God, called to discipleship in Jesus Christ and empowered by the Holy Spirit, we commit ourselves to grow in faith, affirm our gifts, support one another in our callings, engage in ministry and action, and promote healing and wholeness in the church, the society, and the world.

2019 WELCA Meeting Schedule

“Tired & Retired Potluck” – Thursday, February 21, 12pm

Regular Meeting – Thursday, March 21, 1:30pm

Rummage Sale Set-Up – Monday, April 29 – Wednesday, May 1, 9am – 3pm

Rummage Sale – Thursday, May 2, 8am – 4pm
Rummage Sale – Friday, May 3, 8am – 1pm 

Breakfast Meeting – Thursday, May 16, 9:30am

Regular Meeting – Thursday, June 20, 1:30pm

Dorcas Potluck – Wednesday, July 10, 6:30pm

Regular Meeting – Thursday, August 15, 1:30pm

Regular Meeting – Thursday, September 19, 1:30pm

Rummage Sale Set-Up – Monday, October 7 – Wednesday, October 9, 9am – 3pm

Rummage Sale – Thursday, October 10, 8am – 4pm
Rummage Sale – Friday, October 11, 8am – 1pm

“Thank Offering” – Thursday, November 21, 1:30pm

Christmas Luncheon – Thursday, December 5, 11:30am (Seating) & 12pm (Serve)

2019 Community Service Activities

Bethany Riverside Bingo
Tuesdays March 5, 12, 19, and 26
Arrive 1:15pm, play 1:30 – 2:30pm.

Bethany Riverside Birthday Party
Thursday, March 28
Arrive 1pm, party begins 1:30pm.

Hillview Care Center Bingo
Friday, August 9
Arrive 1:45pm, play 2 – 3pm

2019 WELCA Officers

President Sue Staples
Vice President Patti Hanson
Treasurer Patti Hanson
Secretary Carol Miller
Program & Publicity Patti Hanson
Church Women United Representative Esther Harman
Cradle Roll
Karen Geier
Greeting Card Table at Meetings
WELCA Board
Quilting Doris Modahl and Martha Sesvold
Rummage Sales Doris Modahl and Carol Miller

Board Meetings are held the first Wednesday of the month at 10am.